top of page

Work-->Incubation-->Revisit

Part 1:

Read Article

Part 2-4:

Work --> Incubate-->Addendum-->Reflection

QUESTIONS:

Am I trying to cram in too many units for this PBL opportunity?

Ideas:

  • Shorten the units: ADDENDUM: Start with vocabulary that is familiar to them from previous years in Spanish. (Weather vocabulary) Then, lead into vocabulary to use for the water cycle, then verbs that pertain to water. (to wash, to drink, to bathe, etc.) This will scaffold their learning and the vocabulary will center on a theme and build on each other.

  • Less units

  • Less vocabulary to learn per unit, but the same amount of units

  • Give students big vocabulary sheet for them to use when designing project?

  • Should each unit have a shock value? First unit will be a game showing students that they will need to use dirty water once they run out of clean water. How can I do a fun game like this to start each unit? – This may increase motivation, allow students to feel empathy for people who are in these “water” situations, etc.

Should I give students specific ways to present their information or independence? (PPT vs. poster, video?)

Ideas:

  • Need to incorporate tech. somehow – can be different than a PPT ADDENDUM: Students are strongly motivated when using technology. All projects should incorporate tech in some way – a poster can be created using a computer (check out iPAD apps) Present multiple options to students, ALL on the computer.

  • Poster and no technology

  • Campaign poster of why a country needs better water quality

Individual vs. partner projects?

Ideas:

- Partner CI and EI students with a general education student. Research and present together?

- Choose partners ADDENDUM: Would like to use partners but not sure how to choose them. Teacher random (but not random) pick or student choice?

Benefits:

a.) Help with Research

b.) Requires coopeartion

c.) Inspiration for Rpesentation

d.) Comfort when presenting (do not have to get up alone in front of a group)

e.) Can have CI and EI students partner with a general ecuation student without it being obvious to others

- Teacher chooses partners

- No partners and all individual projects (no more than 2 people doing the same country in a class)

What if they can’t find enough research on a country pertaining to water?

Result- partners to eliminate some country options

How do I differentiate for my students with disabilities? (LD, EI, CI, ASD)

Ideas:

  • Partner disabled child with a general education student.

  • Limit the amount of information they need to research (shorten their report/presentation)

  • Give a “cheat sheet” OR complete some of their slides and have them fill in new information and pictures

What will the schedule look like for students to present to other classrooms?

- 4th grade student comes to another class and presents during their Spanish time of day with me ADDENDUM: The student(s) coming to another Spanish class is the best option. Why?

a.) Only taking 1-2 students out of general education class

b.) Doesn't interrupt learning in their classroom with 2 kids gone

c.) Is easier to schedule

d.) Would not interrupt another general education class or change their schedule

e.) Requires less work from other teachers

  • 4th grade student goes to the general education classroom

  • 4th grade student goes and presents during another classes library time

  • Don’t present to classes, but to a teacher instead during their lunch? Ya right!

Reflection:

I truly enjoyed this “work-->incubation-->revisiting” assignment. It took my memory back to a time when I was not very good at this behavior. While reading the psychology article I began to focus on whether or not I take “incubation” periods, and I realized that this is something I have consciously been working harder on. In my early college years, I was all about multi-tasking and having more than one project going on at a time. I would never take a break from technology and would be writing an essay, while talking to a friend, while eating, while cleaning my room, etc. My brain was constantly working, but never really focused on one specific project. I would also do this when studying for an exam, drink an energy drink or pop (not smart), study very late at night and for along time, not get enough sleep, do it last minute, etc. It wasn’t until late college that I realized I needed to change my habits and actually learn how to study for a test. I started studying for exams earlier in the day, I took breaks every 45-60 minutes, drank water or tea instead of energy drinks and pop, and I reduced the amount of procrastination. This helped tremendously.

Once I became a teacher I noticed myself slipping back into the same trend. I was constantly staying late at school, lesson planning into the night or preparing for the next day, I was doing schoolwork on weekends, and skipping family events do to do stuff for school. It was never-ending, and I was never taking breaks or time for myself. I struggled balancing everything – family, exercising, coaching, Master’s degree, teaching, ugh! While I still slip into this trend at times, I feel I do a much better job of balancing it all. I don’t answer my phone or do coursework for my Master’s after 8pm. I leave all my stuff at school or get it done before I go home. I don’t exercise everyday, but I stick to a schedule. I don’t miss events in my personal life to catch up or get ahead in my job. Overall, I have seen progress in my work, and in my personal life, because I take these breaks, and have found that an incubation period is necessary for our minds to recuperate.

Doing this assignment reminded me on how well this approach can work and the benefits of going away from a project, thinking of something else, and coming back at a later time. I have almost always had positive results when I use this strategy, and ended up having the same with this project.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page